Armani Wine Lounge, Ginza, Tokyo

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Super Strict Score [understand my S3]: 6.5
Chocolate mousse tart: 6
Hazelnut chocolate cake: 6.5
Pre-desserts: 7
Petits fours: 6.5
In 1 word: relaxed luxury

Armani Wine Lounge official homepage

Several top-flight designers operate cafés in Tokyo, often rather covertly, to offer their customers a quiet respite in utmost privacy. At the Armani Lounge in Tokyo’s luxury shopping district Ginza, everything is subtly designed to offer weary shoppers an oasis of rest – from the restrained lighting over the niched, almost separated seatings to the desserts, which come with pre-dessert, post-petits fours & a beverage of choice, like the highly recommended Armani chocolate tea, thus inviting to linger. The menu comprises several dessert choices according to season & can include items such as:

  • Chocolate mousse tart with chocolate sorbet
    Chocolate in lots of different forms – mousse, plaque, sorbet, brownie, wafer, sauce. The different textures were quite fun, but alas, the chocolate itself lacked depth – the only fault, but a major one.
  • Hazelnut & chocolate cake
    The hazelnut mousse was very light, also taste-wise. While I would’ve loved a decadent praliné, this dessert was clearly directed at people more calorie-conscious than me. Adept use of textures here as well, the biscotti were an especially nice touch.

The chic & classy interior graces of renowned architects Studio Fuksas features a lot of gold & would probably even make a Krispy Kreme look Michelin worthy, however, presentation is obviously not something in want of improvement. In terms of substantiality, neither of the main desserts were very filling but my guess would be that that is owing to them having to dual-function as post-full-meal-desserts for the Armani restaurant on the floor below as well.

For anyone looking to wind down & take a break from hectic Tokyo the Armani Lounge offers a sweet refuge.

Lire en français | 日本語で読む

24 responses to “Armani Wine Lounge, Ginza, Tokyo

  1. I think I need to start traveling where you are …. or with you for that matter. I love sweet treats…especially chocolate. I always ask, “IS there any other flavor?” or mabye I say it more as a statement. I would love to try some of these amazing goodies you get your hands on.

    • Chocolate, chocolate, you should check out my fine chocolate [mostly bean to bar] reviewing bud’s blog: http://beantobar.wordpress.com/
      His reviews are mindblowingly well written, spot on & a great resource to scrounge when you’re looking for new chocolates to try. He also mentions this bean-to-bar mail tasting club http://beantobar.wordpress.com/2014/04/27/where-to-get-it-cococlectic-bean-to-bar-club/ which I think is an absolutely fantastic concept & you might be interested in.
      Should you happen to come to Japan within the next couple of months hit me up! We’ll be leaving soon although the exact date hasn’t been determined yet

      • I will definitely be checking his blog..especially the bean to bar club. My husband pick these bars up for me here and there. The most recent one was Salt Dog Chocolate Bar (Butter toffee pieces in 70% dark chocolate with sea salt) Mmmmmm. And where is your next destination…after Japan?

  2. Your blog is pure indulgence! I adore all the photos and already have a craving for some pastries now!

    • The good thing about ice cream on the plate [in the case of the chocolate tart] is you have to eat it or it’s gonna disintegrate in your face, so no choice! :D
      Thanks for the lovely words. I sure can’t wait to hear about the rest of the 40 days! So would’ve loved to accompany you on that tour!

  3. gorgeous photos…. I love the artisan good shops in France – not sure i take the best photos of what I see, due to not really having access as the shop staff are always there – and i hate to impose with my camera. eve

    • Thanks for the compliment!
      Well as soon as it’s on my table I regard it officially mine so I’m entitled to snap as many shots as I want [in my opinion. I HATE places that don’t allow any photos]. As for showcases, interior etc., I usually take those with my iPhone as it’s much less obtrusive than the DSLR & for the wide angle. On a general note, don’t you think they should be happy when people want to promote their store? I know French store assistants can be very tricky though – fortunately, in Japan EVERYBODY takes photos of ANYthing so stores are much more accommodating.
      I like your style in the French store shots, it has a very retro/vintage feel & gives those stores an appropriate air of history.

Leave a Reply

